Rubicon Owners Forum banner

what is the most common problem with a stock jeep?

• Total voters
1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
I am looking to join the wonderful world of jeep ownership, but as a newbie, I have questions and concerns about what I am about to spend my Cash on
I was wondering, If anyone could sum up what would be the most common warrenty (or non warrenty) issue on a rubicon series jeep?
in other words what is the one thing almost every stock, non modified jeep, most likely encounters within the first few years???....if any????
Are there any things I should pay particular attention to when considering a used rubicon????

Thanks for your input.

·
Jeepless in PA
12,585 Posts
basically just test drive it and see how it shifts, try out 4low,lockers, ect

look for mud in spots that would be hard to clean like behind the engine, on top of the stock shovel(t-case skid), behind axle,ect

its just like buying any other used car

·
Registered
202 Posts
It really depends. Jeeps are very reliable vehicles, but things do go wrong. I had a 1997 TJ for 8 years and never needed any warranty work aside from a bad steering box that needed replacement right when I got it. Apart from regular maintenance, I never had anything go wrong until I was well over 60k miles, and those were minor things like a leaky pinion oil seal.

My 2005 Rubi had its throwout bearing go out right about 2800 miles. I really don't anticipate any major problems in the future though. The 4.0L I6 is solid. I may break stuff on the trail, but that's just how it goes.

My girlfriend drives a 2001 Volvo S40, and she spends far more than I do on regular maintenance and fixing things that go wrong. But that's not just because I have an '05. That's including the 97 I had up until 6 months ago. Your mileage may vary, of course, but I think you have less to worry about with a Jeep than some other kind of vehicle. I'm on my third :D