Rubicon Owners Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Rubicon newbie here...just upgraded my uber dorky Ford Escape for a 2013 JK Rubicon. My fiance and I are really looking forward to hitting the trails and doing some camping. So while the Rubicon is technically mine....I'm not "the car person" in the relationship. And I hate being the damsel in distress and making him do all the work...not to mention I really want to be able to work on and fix my own stuff. So...I am finding all sorts in conflicting info on fluids and would just like to hear what some of you guys are running and if you have a reason why. What I'm thinking of running is below -- any feedback or advice is appreciated!

Engine oil -- 5W30 Full Synthetic
*currently has Valvoline Max Life 5W20 in it as FCA recommends.
Gear oil -- 80W90 Conventional (no friction modifiers) for front and rear
*75W-140 is recommended for the rear if you are towing, but we don't plan to tow...just trail ride for now.
*What is the consensus on friction modifiers? I know you don't need them if you don't have a limited slip, but does it hurt? It seems to be harder to find just straight conventional these days....

Any other tips, tricks, and comments are welcome!

·
Registered
558 Posts
Welcome.
Even if you don't do the work knowledge is golden. It suprises me that so many people spend so much money on a Jeep and know nothing about it.
All of us here can argue what is best, and if you've done a simple search you will see so much conflicting information, so I will tell you what I do, then make your own decision.