Rubicon Owners Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts
G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to rock-crawling, so please forgive what may be a stupid question.
The underside of my stock Rubicon is bashed , after a day at Paragon.
The ends of 1 lower control arm are bent; although, I pretty much bent it back into shape and the ride seems fine.
The paint has been scraped-off the skids and many other places and now those places are coated with surface rust.
Obviously, I'm installing armor before my next trail-ride. In the meantime, do I need to repaint the scrapes? If not, am I shortening the life of my Jeep?
TIA

·
Premium Member
2,160 Posts
Not a stupid question at all... its a very good question. I am sure you will get many opinions but here is mine.

I think you would be OK to allow the scrapes to go until you change to different armor... that is if its going to be soon. However, allowing them unchecked can and will result in them rusting. A quick fix would be to simply touch them up with some spray paint. As for anything bent, like you have done, you can try to bend it back as long as it doesn't affect the operation of any components. If it does, then it may need to be disassembled and worked or even replaced. For some real tough rust stopping action though, I recommend POR15... it is the commercial version of what we use on the submarine to stop rust in its tracks. You can paint it on right over the rust and then paint that stuff when it hardens. You can get it at quadratec and other places. Hope this all helps.

Justin

·
Administrator
15,116 Posts
the underside of mine has a few scrapes......
im letting them rust as im replacing the gas skid....
i think POR15 is about the best you can apply if your worried about
long term.
short term rattle can some black primer after a good brushing
with a wire brush.

what bugs me is the front end..... came from the factory rusted.
someday when i get bored.... im gonna hot pressure spray it..