Rubicon Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Question: as a spotter what are my responsibilities if I spot someone and damage is incurred? Do I help pay for damage or is it just part of it?

I spotted my friend thru some rocks. I am new to spotting and new to going over rocky trails. My friend is aware of both. He told me he wanted to put his tire as close as possible to one rock. I told him if he does that his tire would be wedged between two rocks. He said that it was fine and wanted to do it.

I spotted him placing his front passenger tire between the 2 rocks, he got past that but then his rear tire came around and dragged against the rock, moving it and then it punctured his rear tire.

After he was past that we talked and he said I shouldn't have placed his front tire there. I reminded him that I told him that it would be wedged between 2 rocks. It was not a heated discussion. Finally I asked him, what tire did he want between the rocks, the passenger front or passenger rear? He said the rear tire. I told him then the problem was that I was talking about his front tire and he was talking about his rear tire. I said we mis communicated by not specifying which tire each of us were thinking/talking about.

So I feel bad that it happened and he has not asked for help with costs, I dont know if I should offer to help pay for the new tire. Or what my obligation is in this regard as his spotter.

What do you think? Thanks for any and all input.

·
1,645 Posts
I’m a retired truck driver who has had people spot for me or stop traffic. I’ve also had people spot for me on the trail and I others. The driver is always responsible for for what they do with and to their vehicle. That includes getting communication correct.

·
Registered
2,579 Posts