Rubicon Owners Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
740 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay, I'm new to regearing, but I'm getting an education trying to figure it all out. As I understand, you *might* be okay installing a Randy's 4.88 ring and pinion as far as the carrier shims are concerned (ie reused the shims). Randy's and others don't have the carrier shims.

If not, the stealership rates are $410...a bit steep.

I posted on JU, but maybe we could get on a mass e-mail and put some pressure on the aftermarket for the shims?!?!?

Thoughts....

I'm just a bit leery of cracking open the pumpkins just hoping everything will work out.

Here is an e-mail address (Jay) at Randy's: [email protected]

·
Registered
478 Posts
Herein lies the problem in rebuilding diff's. I've only done a couple but the secret to success is having access to the shims. Being a "stealership" we
carry most of the shims in stock. Good diff mechanics can build a diff and only have to shim it once, others can take several kicks at it and still have the diff make noise. Any good "gear center" or diff parts outlet that installs what they sell should be able to install any diff part for a fair price and offer a warranty to you.

·
Registered
478 Posts