Rubicon Owners Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts
G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been looking at getting a new lift and have somewhat narrowed the search down to the RE 5.5 LA vs Teraflex 4 LA. I've heard that the Teraflex wasn't a true Long Arm kit... not really sure what is meant by this. :?

I'll be trying to install the lift myself with a little help from my friends and I'm a competent mechanic but have no welding or fabrication experience.

I heard that the teraflex requiered welding to install. And the RE required drilling. (I can do that)

What is your opinion on the better lift. Looking at quality and ease of installation.

Also are there any other lifts that any of you would reccomend? I'm looking to put 35" tires on.

Thanks!

G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Well you chose the cream of the crop for sure in those two.

A few people I know that got the Tera LA, eventually changed the CA's themselves to the RE LA's, leaving the rest of the Tera stuff on there.

You are going to need to relocate the rear shocks too, I went ahead and welded (well I clamped them in place while the guy with the welder made the actual welds) the RE re-location brakets on, but many have had excellent results with the bolt on Teraflex relocators even though they bought the RE kit.

I run 35"'s on my setup extremely well, I went with the RE 4.5" Short Arm kit, sub'd the 4.5" coils with the 3.5" coils and used the 2" Coil Spacers I already had in there. I also have a 1" Body lift, I can say, that at maximum articulation I am at full stuff right now, sort of a bummer as I had hoped to be able to run 37.5"'s if I wanted to.

I think I am starting to seriosuly look at flat fender products, for if I ever really want the 37.5"'s on there.

·
Registered
454 Posts
I think the Poison Spider tube fenders are where its at for flatfender products. Sweeeeeet!

·
Administrator
15,116 Posts
get the RE long arm...
just helped my buddy REMOVE his terra 6'' LA .