Rubicon Owners Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Premium Member
5,182 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Question for the welders out there. Seems like if I clean up an area for welding using a wire wheel. I have trouble holding a bead. Am I correct in assuming the brush (power driven, not hand) is leaving a film of metal and the shiny look is not just clean base metal?

·
Registered
153 Posts
You got a picture of what you're getting? I've found that sometimes I get better results when I use a grinding wheel or flap disk as opposed to a wire wheel, but it should still provide decent results if you play with the settings a bit. You're right though, my experience is that on millscaled material the wire wheel doesn't have enough oomph to get down to good, clean metal.

·
Administrator
10,765 Posts
Try more amperage Frank. I'm just a shade tree welder but so far I've only found aluminum to be picky about surface prep. If your surface is bright and shiny you should be good to go.

·
Premium Member
1,709 Posts
Question for the welders out there. Seems like if I clean up an area for welding using a wire wheel. I have trouble holding a bead. Am I correct in assuming the brush (power driven, not hand) is leaving a film of metal and the shiny look is not just clean base metal?
Question is too vague. What metal specifically are we dealing with?

·
Premium Member
1,709 Posts
Try more amperage Frank. I'm just a shade tree welder but so far I've only found aluminum to be picky about surface prep. If your surface is bright and shiny you should be good to go.
If he is messing with painted sheet metal, a lot of it has a zinc type coating under the primer and when the paint is gone, the metal looks shiny but because the zinc is still present, the bead looks bad and it will pop holes in the metal when the zinc interacts with molten electrode.