Rubicon Owners Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
326 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
But no pics :mad: My lousy cheap digital camera won't take a shot from less than four feet away, and from that distance you can't see anything. I'll try to borrow a better camera and snap some pics later, but I'm going on vacation for two weeks starting next Friday and I don't think I'll get them done before that.

A more detailed write up will be on my web site eventually.
* * * I am not a mechanic, an electrician, or sane. Copy me at your own risk * * *

Parts:
- Air bag switch from a 2003 TJ SE part# 1-56010301AB
* * A switch from an older TJ will NOT work the same. The switches are physically different inside.
- Plug for the back of the air bag switch. When the dealer looked up the part on the computer all they found was a huge expensive wiring harness. I went to the wrecker and found a plug that was close enough and trimmed it to fit. No idea where it come from, it was in a "loose parts" bin. You need a 6 pin plug, but only four of the pins are used. Don't sweat if the pins are not in the right place, they are easy to move.
- Extra pins for the plug on the air bag control module. Go to the wrecker and find an XJ or TJ and get the plug off the air bag module. On XJs its under the back of the center console.

BEFORE YOU START DISCONNECT THE BATTERY AND WAIT 5 MINUTES

Step 1: Mount the switch.
The stock location is the flat space to the right of the locker switches, but that spot looked too usefull to give up, so I removed the right-hand cigarette lighter socket and mounted the switch in place of it. This required a dremel, a file, and a lot of epoxey.

Step 2: Wire your plug.
If you need to change the pin locations you pop the red plastic bit out from between the pins, then slide a jewler screwdriver down the side of the pins to release them, then pull them out. I put two feet of wire on each pin, but 16 inches probably would have been plenty.
Pin1 - Switched power