Rubicon Owners Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts
G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm going to sub in the 3.5" Kit Coils, as I am keeping my 2" coil spacers in, for a total of 5.5" suspension lift.

I am open to opinions here on what else is really needed that the kit does not come with????

I know it is not as optimal as a 5.5" Kit or a LA kit, but this is what I can afford right now. And I really plan on bigger than 35" tires down the road, thus the need to squeeze the extra inch out of the suspension.

Opinions are welcome, even negative ones about the setup. As always I am here to gain knowledge ya know and I don't want my rig down because of something stupid once I get started on it.

Thanks in advance....

·
Premium Member
2,772 Posts
I'm not an expert on big lifts, but it is my undertanding that once you get much above the 4" - 4.5" mark, then the jeep really starts to become unstable on the road unless longer CA's are used that recenter everything.

The stock CA's move towards the center of the jeep when taller springs are added and therefore shorten and raise the COG. This also creates a rolling-in effect of the front axle when hitting bumps or trying to climb.

One other thing, most Suspension System manufacturers say not to add any large spacers to their springs as it is unsafe and will void the warranty.

I would also ask the big dogs in the JU TJ forum since there is lots of experience in the higher lifts there.

Good luck and get lots of opinions before you add those spacers to go to 5.5".

Ken

·
Premium Member
2,772 Posts
Sorry, should have added this before posting above.

Go with the 4.5" springs and a 1" body lift and I think you will be farther ahead, and safer!

Ken

G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the input.