Rubicon Owners Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I actually have a TJ, but I have been collecting parts for several years toward building JK axles and swapping them in, using ARTEC trusses. I had intended to run Truetracs front and rear.

I have a complete non-Rubicon 44 rear axle, which should take the Truetrac without issue.

I also have a Rubicon 44 front axle, that I acquired as a bare housing (did not get the factory locker). Over time I collected all the other stock parts (axle shafts, knuckles, etc). I also intended to run a Truetrac in it. I figured, the non-Rubicon 44 rear is 30-spline, and the Rubicon 44 front is 30-spline, so I should be able to run the same carrier in both (I have already acquired a pair of 913A589 Truetracs)

However, I was at the Pigeon Forge Jeep Invasion a couple weeks ago, and I was explaining my build to the RCV rep that was there (I have a set of factory Rubicon shafts that I intended to use, but was also considering RCVs), and he mentioned that the standard Rubicon shafts are a non-standard length due to differences internal to the Rubicon locker, which I was not aware of. I am concerned now that the standard Truetrac may not work with Rubicon shafts, or there may be other differences in the Rubicon front housing that will prevent the carrier from working at all.

So I am trying to determine what my options are. I believe I am looking at these 3:

1: Truetrac with RCV axles (RCV offers axles for either the Rubicon locker or non-stock carriers), downside would have to buy RCV shafts (~$1450). Unless there is another manufacturer that also offers axle shafts in non-stock lengths.

2: Buy a stock Rubicon locker (between $600-900 right now on eBay), downside I also have to collect any other parts to make it work and wiring to run it in my TJ. Not really sold on the reliability of the stock locker either.