Rubicon Owners Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just bought a used 06 Rubicon and was wanting any recommendations members could give on putting together a must have take along tool kit for day trips and such. Total noob. Any help appreciated. Thanks.

·
Registered
962 Posts
Welcome,

I think there are 2 kits you need.

1. Basic tool kit to fix broken stuff.

2. Recovery kit to get you out of being stuck in or on something.

If you describe your intended adventure I'm sure the pros here will have good advice on things you need.

·
Administrator
10,689 Posts
Welcome! Here's some assorted and spontaneous thoughts to expand on Bob's comment.

I might have a more expanded collection of tools, etc. than the average wheeler running easy trails in a group. I do hard trails and lead medium to 'easy' hard trails - as trail leader I'm responsible for getting everybody in my group back safely which sometimes means doing trail repairs.

I carry one of those Chinese wrench and socket sets that has a fold up plastic case - it's extremely handy and easier to use than digging through a bag of wrenches and sockets. You should carry the axle nut socket - I forgot the size in mm, maybe 36mm? 1/2" breaker bar (and a piece of tube for more more leverage), bottle jack with an adapter (like a "Y") to fit under the axle. Two pair of vice grips - you'll need two if you need to clamp off a broken brake line. Large Crescent wrench, large adjustable pliers ('water pump pliers'.) Oh, a 12 point socket for the brake caliper bolts - was that 10mm or 12mm guys?

Thinking.. basic electrical tools, multimeter, 10' or so of 14 gauge wire. Electrical tape. Gorilla tape.

I have a short length of light chain with a long bolt/nut in case something needs to be chained back together.