Rubicon Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 65 Posts

·
Registered
2,396 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I thought I had this fixed after bleeding all the fluid out of the brakes.
They have worked fine for a few months and then yesterday the first reasonably hot day of the year I drive to TSC with no problems, I park. I go int the store to get feed, come back out get in start to drive and a brake is dragging.
I am glad I did not put the new rotors on!
I am going to rebuild the calipers which I am pretty sure are not the problem.
I have a new master cylinder I bought awhile back. I am going to bench bleed and replace.
For such a basic brake system it is a PITA!
I mean all there is, is a master cylinder, proportioning valve, lines and calipers.
Front flex lines have been replaced as well as all four calipers/pads. The calipers were lubed up, been bled to death. The only thing left is the master cyl and proportioning valve, and I have never seen a bad proportioning valve and since it has no moving parts it is highly unlikely to cause this issue.
If it were not for these brakes I could probably like my Jeep. LOL

·
3,471 Posts
I've only seen collapsed lines and worn out calipers cause this. I've been working on the brakes of my scrambler for many weeks (only for a little time on the weekends) but am close to having them working properly...my desire to keep working brakes is very low right now.

Good luck, I hope you find something easy to fix it.

Reactions: johncanfield

·
Registered
2,396 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I've only seen collapsed lines and worn out calipers cause this. I've been working on the brakes of my scrambler for many weeks (only for a little time on the weekends) but am close to having them working properly...my desire to keep working brakes is very low right now.

Good luck, I hope you find something easy to fix it.