Rubicon Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone, new to the forum. My wife and I are talking about getting our first Rubi. Not sure I really want the Auto Trans. I have only driven Manual trans vehicles, I've only owned a couple Auto Trans vehicles but those were the wifes.

I guess Im looking for some Pros/Cons to each. I'm tempted to get the automatic but have driven a manual my entire life (I'm in my 50's) so it isn't out of the question for me to keep shifting. Besides having a stick is kinda a Mellinial Anti Theft Device isn't it?? ;)

Living in Illinois I won't be off on to many mountains but Wisconsin isn't entirely out of the question. And going camping with my kids (7 & 9) both boys would make for a ton o fun and make some lifelong memories for them.

So give it to me guys, pros and cons to the Auto vs. Manual transmission. TIA

·
1,532 Posts
Hello and welcome to the forum.

I drove tractor trailers for a living. I had a manual CJ7 for 35 years. I now own an auto I bought in 2004. In 2004 I couldn’t decide until I put my hand on the auto handle and it hit me straight out - I’m DONE with shifting. I won with that decision.

I often drive in traffic. No more constant clutch and shifting.

On trails an auto is forgiving. It means a lot to leave it in gear while navigating an obstacle and simply apply the brake, figure out what you and your spotter want to do, and then let off the brake and go. Sometimes obstacles are in several parts such as spaced out steps or ledges and it’s better to not gas through them all as one. I like the auto for that.

And lastly for me. In Moab, I will just simply live longer in an auto.

·
Registered
541 Posts
I have driven both and as usual make hard and fast opinions that are usually wrong. I see you are trying to decide on what engine also.