Rubicon Owners Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I’m about to remove my 42RLE transmission and replace it with a re-manufactured unit in my 2005 LJ. I have the Jeep up on the lift and have removed the exhaust system (for room and a y-pipe weld repair), belly pan and drive shafts. I have never done this before and welcome any advice from those who have completed this process themselves. What to do, what not to do, what makes the process easier, what did you learn, etc. I wanted to rent a telescoping transmission jack, but nobody near me rents them. Closest is about a three hour round trip. So, I’ll probably just purchase a cheap one since I’ll probably only use it once.

I’m also changing engine oil, filter, diff fluids, diff gaskets, transfer case fluid, brake fluid, front and rear brake pads, pins, boots, etc., turning all rotors, oil pan gasket, rear main seal, valve cover gasket, etc. I have quite a few codes, so I’ll also be inspecting and repairing multiple areas of the wire harness. And, most likely be obtaining a WranglerFix PCM.

Vehicle Automotive tire Tire Hood Wheel

·
2,111 Posts
If you are even entertaining a PCM replacement, I would do that before all that work. Your Jeep brain making inaccurate decisions could make things appear to be broken. I know a guy who went through two transmissions and it was the PCM all along.

·
Administrator
11,505 Posts
I have no idea where you are located, but you are welcome to use my telescoping tranny jack (I'm an hour north of San Antonio.) I've never pulled a 42RLE so no words of advice other than reading the FSM - they should detail the process.

Reactions: Mouse

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
If you are even entertaining a PCM replacement, I would do that before all that work. Your Jeep brain making inaccurate decisions could make things appear to be broken. I know a guy who went through two transmissions and it was the PCM all along.