Rubicon Owners Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been procrastinating for three years on lifting, because I do not understand much about lifting. [That and I procrastinate a lot anywho]

The big hold up is my wife's ability to get in/out of our stock JK.
The distance from the ground to the seat in a JK is the same as a TJ with a 2 inch lift. Wish I had known that before I bought the JK. Adding height is going to make it more difficult for her.

Today, I saw a YouTube clip by Extreme Terrain that said
Larger tire - more clearance between ground and axle.
Higher body lift - more clearance between ground and the body, skid plates.

Considering that we will not do anything extreme, it seems that 33 tires would add 1.4 inches, given that the OEM 265/70R17 tires are 31.6. That would be adequate for our purposes. Would 33's not only raise the axle but the body and frame the same distance?

Have I got the facts right?

Two questions.

1) If I got 33 tires, say 255/80R17, would that require new rims?
2) What is the purpose of backspacing, positive or negative? Or put another way, would this be a concern to me?

Thanks

·
Registered
575 Posts
Remember that a increase in tire size only gets half that in lift. The tire size increase is split between top and bottom of tire. The increase s overall diameter. Tires are never the size of the sidewall, check the manufactures web site for the true measured diameter of the tires you have and the ones you want. What width of tires do you want?
My wife is short and the best thing I have bought is a set of grabbars, mounted to the a-pillar. The soft handles just don't cut it.
https://grabarsusa.com/

·
Registered
771 Posts

Two questions.

2) What is the purpose of backspacing, positive or negative? Or put another way, would this be a concern to me?

Thanks