Dragging brake is back. - Rubicon Owners Forum
 39Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 35 (permalink) Old 05-02-2019, 11:42 AM Thread Starter
Rubicus Maximus

Dragging brake is back.

So I thought I had this fixed after bleeding all the fluid out of the brakes.
They have worked fine for a few months and then yesterday the first reasonably hot day of the year I drive to TSC with no problems, I park. I go int the store to get feed, come back out get in start to drive and a brake is dragging.
I am glad I did not put the new rotors on!
I am going to rebuild the calipers which I am pretty sure are not the problem.
I have a new master cylinder I bought awhile back. I am going to bench bleed and replace.
For such a basic brake system it is a PITA!
I mean all there is, is a master cylinder, proportioning valve, lines and calipers.
Front flex lines have been replaced as well as all four calipers/pads. The calipers were lubed up, been bled to death. The only thing left is the master cyl and proportioning valve, and I have never seen a bad proportioning valve and since it has no moving parts it is highly unlikely to cause this issue.
If it were not for these brakes I could probably like my Jeep. LOL

MARK

2005 Rubicon Sahara Unlimited #890
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 35 (permalink) Old 05-03-2019, 08:33 AM
Administrator

Garage
Oh no!
Wildrat likes this.

John - WB5THT
=======================
2006 LJ, not stock
post #3 of 35 (permalink) Old 05-03-2019, 11:04 AM Thread Starter
Rubicus Maximus

Quote:
Originally Posted by johncanfield View Post
Oh no!

LOL, yeah, I tell ya if this was a decrepit horse I'd put it out to pasture.
johncanfield likes this.

MARK

post #4 of 35 (permalink) Old 05-04-2019, 09:40 AM
Official WebWheeler

Garage